Ghost Stories

A grave sits atop a hill isolated from the small village below. In my spare time I will sit beside the grave taking in my surroundings. The landscape is beautiful up here the grass, the water, everything it all comes together to form a image that you would see in a painting. 

The grave that I sit beside was once cared for the weeds wiped off the dirt cleared, now it is just left alone sticking out of the beauty of the horizon as it is slowly dragged down by weeds and a dissolved by the breeze. Flowers were left often, I loved those flowers they were so colorful and bright giving life to the scene, but those flowers have long since been blow away by the wind and they have not returned. Now the grave is colorless and alone with nobody to care for its eroded skeleton.

At least the grave has a view, it gray face gets to witness the rising sun every morning as it glitters off of the endless sea setting it on fire. I will sit with the grave watching these miracles come to life the sun coming to greet the world in a warm hug.

Unfortunately the grave is not very good company and oh how I wish someone would visit the grave so I may watch with them to have the presents of another being to help fend of this wretched feeling of loneliness that I experience every day, every hour, every minute, every second. It would benefit both parties they could enjoy the view, and I could have a friend who would block the blowing winds that come from the sea.

Tears will often crawl from my eyes as I watch the grave crumble away or when I think of how little I mean to the rest of the world but my tears are just blown away by the wind along with the crumbling pieces of the grave. Once I smiled at the grave, once I laughed, once I was happy. Now I only cry as I am blown away by the wind with the grave following close behind. How I wish I had a shield from this blowing wind all it would take was one person just one person! One person to bring flowers, one person to clear away the weeds, one person to wipe away the dirt just one person. One person. I wish I could beg to those people in the village please could just one person come to my aid, could just one person visit me and my grave. Oh how foolish I had been thinking I would last forever but I guess now even those thoughts have been lost to the wind and no one was going to retrieve them for me.

I take one last look at the fading grave as I fade with it. The last thing I see etched, by the dead, into the rim of the gravestone were the words, We live together but we die alone, take these words as a warning, a message, a cautioning, never forget these words, never forget these words like I have been forgotten.

Because as I am blown away by the wind I think that I believe those words more than ever before and one day you will too.

Pictures done by Katie C.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

5 thoughts on “Ghost Stories

  1. Dear Katie,

    I can say that your story is a really beautiful meaning to death as time continues to move on. Just the meaning of a illusion of being alive still is such a big emotion to death as we will be forgotten in the end as we fade. I really love how it is portrayed in a very dark humored way for death. It s a really lovely story.

    I would like to say that a bigger expansion on the depth of the loneliness felt within the ghost.

    Without a doubt, I believed that your story would excel in being very short and sweet.

    Sincerely,
    Melody

  2. Dear Katie,

    This was really well done, you wrote the role of the ghost very well in its feelings of isolation and loneliness. You worded it nicely in the way that I could definitely see the ghost deteriorating and fading away bit by bit. I especially love what you did with the formatting, having the text get slowly smaller and smaller.

    The descriptions are very beautiful, you should include more of them to paint a clearer picture instead of relying on the drawing you’ve done (which is absolutely beautifully done by the way). I also picked up on a small typo you might want to edit, “have long since been blow away by the wind. ” Just a quick change from blow to blown. 🙂

    Both your story and drawing were very beautiful, I’d hope to see more of them.

    Sincerely,
    Rania

  3. Dear Katie

    This is simply amazing. The nostalgia and grief is written in a powerful way I couldn’t help but feel the emotions too. You didn’t make the whole story overwhelmingly depressing and I think that was a nice touch. Sometimes just having that twinge of longing or melancholy gives a piece more feeling than just piling on the sadness. Maybe a brief description of the sunset would have enhanced the setting and feeling of everything slipping away more. Other than that it was a beautiful story and the emotions were spot on. My favorite words from this: “We live together but we die alone” are very raw and powerful and really enhanced the theme of the story. You did a great job.

    Sincerely Reegan =)

  4. Dear Katie,

    Your piece had a beautiful balance of symbolism and story telling. You were able to tell a story through description and made me feel as though I was there. You used vivid descriptions that gave me chills (in a good way!) and made me want to read more.

    The one improvement I could give would be to maybe read your work out loud just to catch those tiny errors that may happen in your writing, which honestly happens to all of us!!

    Your writing is so amazing, and I cannot wait to read even more of your amazing writing, not to mention your beautiful artwork!

    Sincerely,
    Alyna

  5. Dear Katie,
    This a great piece of writing and shows the different symbols and a very unique perspective of death. The way you describe the different things in the story such as the grave was absolutely amazing.

    One thing I would like to point out was that your grammar was a little off in some places and for certain scenes, you did not add the detail that was in the other places.

    It was an amazing piece and cannot wait to read other works that you will publish. This is just amazing work and the detail makes you think you are in the movie.

    Sincerely,
    Maheer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *